GUEST REVIEWS

From Chandler, AZ - Melissa

The Eagles Hillside Retreat was a nice quiet cabin with a great view. It was very secluded, almost too secluded. Most of the hikes were a 20-25 min drive away from the cabin. The hammocks were fun and relaxing. As a family we enjoyed s'mores by the fire while enjoying the piece and quite. Keep in mind, you need to bring your own propane tanks for the fire pit and the grill. Inside the cabin was clean and updated. The kitchen does have the necessities for cooking but limited on some items like a cookie sheet. The description states there is no internet access, nor cell service. We were lucky to get a few texts in during our stay. This does make it challenging in case of emergencies. There is no way to contact anyone unless you find your way to the top of street. They did provide some movies, games and books to help with entertainment. We had some nice family bonding time with the kids while we were there. Since the cabin is so secluded, access to water is limited. We did not use much water due to the fear of running out, in the guest book there was a family who did run out of water and had to end their stay early. The rooms were nice, but be warned the master bed is a very firm memory foam mattress. We discovered the firm mattress was not to our liking. Although we had a nice stay, we would probably not return due to the bed and the very remote location.

From Gilbert, AZ · January 2018 ·
Brooke

Absolutely beautiful and very rustic with beautiful views and upgrades! We would definitely love to stay here again in the future!


From Gilbert, AZ · December 2017 ·
Jason
We had such a good time and the cabin was quiet and secluded just what we wanted with great views and the kids loved the swings!

From Gilbert, AZ · October 2017 ·
Joe
Had an amazing weekend at The Eagles Nest Hillside Retreat. Lots of great views to soak in and leave you feeling refreshed. Would definitely recommend to friends. Thanks again!

From Mesa, AZ · October 2017 ·
Emma
Beautiful cabin! Very remote and romantic! Great for a weekend to get away from city! Some suggestions would be definitely follow directions emailed to you, apple maps will lead you astray! But the directions emailed are very clear and helpful. There is basically no cell service so be prepared for that but was nice to be unplugged for the weekend. There is a helpful book of nearby hikes at the home but also do some research beforehand if that's what you're interested in! We went down to the Tonto natural bridge and had a great day. Only about 20 minutes from the house.

From Tucson, AZ · October 2017 ·
Kori
This place is lovely, but secluded, so plan on reading a book or doing puzzles. The deck is amazing! Beautiful views and many lounge options!

From Phoenix, AZ · September 2017 ·
Amanda
What a wonderful weekend! We rented the cabin to get away for a birthday weekend and it was wonderful. Beautiful weather, beautiful accommodations. Everything you could need. The kids LOVED playing on the patio. There is no internet and limited cell service (which I loved, but was difficult for the kids). We forgot propane but there were many tanks up there so thankfully we got to use the firepit and BBQ. The drive up is beautiful but be warned that if you are prone to car-sickness, you'll want to pre-medicate! We had 2 car sick boys on the way up! All in all, it couldn't have been much better.

From Mesa, AZ · September 2017 ·
Andres
We had a fun and relaxing trip. Kids loved playing board games, hiking, swimming, and watching the stars. We will definitely be back!

Ron
This place is an excellent retreat away from day to day life. During the day enjoy the peace and quiet and abundance of wildlife and at night the abundance of stars.

Adam
Everything was great and as expected. We were able to unplug from technology, relax, and spend time as a family. Rance was a great host. I will definitely be back.

Montie

If your looking for a private retreat this is it! Very quiet and restful. The view is to die for! The front porch is so relaxing with all of the outdoor furniture. The accommodations were as advertised. A great value for the money!

Rob
Beautiful cabin in a secluded area of the mountains. Not more than 15-20 mins from a small town though so it's relatively easy to grab anything you might need. The best asset the property has is a very comfortably furnished porch, which I spent every night on, staring at one of the most beautiful night-time skylines I have ever seen. The view of the stars at night is simply breathtaking and definitely world class!

Lori
We had an amazing time at The Eagles Nest retreat!! It was exactly what we were looking for! We had the opportunity to relax and unwind! We loved being unplugged from the hectic everyday life!! It was so peaceful and serene! The cabin was perfect and Rance is a great host!! Just had a few questions and once we were in town and had a cell signal, lol, he was very quick to respond to our questions. There's no doubt that we will definitely be back!!!

Kimberly
Remote location. Good hike at Washington Park. Nice time in Pine at farmers market. Don't forget jelly, butter and ice... we did. Enjoyed the fire pit. Would stay there again.

Orsolya
A gorgeous place. Make sure you realize that there is no internet or phone reception. Be sure to follow the directions that Rance sends you, do not rely on (Hidden by Airbnb) Maps or GPS. Going back for another stay.

Yantamei
Nice cabin, beautiful and peaceful surroundings. Loved it! Wished we could've stayed. Our host was very professional and prompt to respond.

Paul
It was a nice secluded cabin closer to some hiking trails.

Angie
The Eagles Nest Hillside Retreat is a hidden gem and exceeded all of our expectations. We wanted to get away from the hustle and bustle of life and work and that we were able to do. This location is off the grid and you don’t have intranet, TV and very little cell reception and man was that AWESOME! The cabin is beautiful and very well kept and the patio is exceptional and the views are breathtaking. We spent most of our time on the deck taking in the view, relaxing and playing games. Nothing beats waking up and having your coffee on the deck and then wrapping your day up on the deck with a cocktail in hand and a nice fire. Most every day we went for a drive explored all the fishing holes, streams (the kids loved playing in them) and all the great hiking the mountains offered. I would recommend this cabin to everyone and will definitely be back.

Rebecca
My family really enjoyed or stay in this beautiful cabin this week. I think our favorite part was the large porch with all the swings. My little boys spent hours swinging and exploring around the cabin. I definitely recommend it!

Marc
Gorgeous location and cabin. Secluded, peaceful, great get away from the city.

Brian
Off the grid it definitely is. If this is what you are looking for you found it here at the Eagles Nest Retreat. Great place to disconnect. There is a lot to see right in the area also.

Mark
Great value and very nice accommodations. You won't be disappointed.

Allie
This is a beautiful home with a warm atmosphere! Meticulously clean and beautifully decorated, it is just a beautiful place to escape from wifi and phones and craziness. Love it!

Olivia
Beautiful, secluded home nearby some wonderful hikes. The stars and outdoor fire pit and hammock swings were to die for. There is a great book Rance has put together outlining hikes nearby, so don't panic trying to print out everything ahead of time (like we did!), as there is no internet and very spotty cell service at the cabin.

Kay
Rance' place is beautiful, clean in a secluded area and a great location, convenient to so many activities. The place was awesome, and Rance was so helpful and friendly.

Carol
The house is exactly as pictured with a beautiful view. The host was available through email if we had questions. We rented a car but if it had rained a truck or SUV would have been nice to traverse the road to the cabin. Bring propane or have one from the cabin filled in town for the grill and fire pit. Water is limited but we were there for 4 days and had plenty. We had a great time and loved the place.

Patrick
Beautiful location and cabin was amazing. The host thought of everything!

Abby
Awesome Cabin up in near the rim in Payson. Was an awesome opportunity for my boyfriend and I to get away for a long weekend and relax!

Sheree
The scenery is amazing, perfect place for relaxing, "unplugging", taking walks, and getting great sleep. Also perfect for spending actual time with loved ones. During snowy times a 4wheel drive may be needed. We made it alright in our Honda with light snow. Bring plenty of drinking water if you plan on staying at the cabin and not driving into town. It really was a perfect getaway for downtime.

Paul
Every aspect of this 3-day stay was perfect. The views, the isolation from civilization and the comforts of The Eagles Nest Hillside were what we had hoped for. This "beautiful" and fully furnished cabin is luxury, especially since it's 35 minutes outside of Payson and on the side of a mountain down 6 miles of well maintained dirt road. Everything is provided. EVERYTHING. We sat on the massive deck by morning with coffee to catch the sunrises and again at night with wine to watch spectacular sunsets. The bathroom has three separate areas and is beautifully done with travertine and marble and a jacuzzi tub and massive walk-in shower. We did not any other humans the entire time we were there. The hiking is great with the entire spectrum of ease and difficulty. Tonto Natural Bridge is only 20 minutes drive.

Ali
We had a fantastic weekend away, private, secluded, and the ability to disconnect for a couple days and truly enjoy time with our family of four. The single level cabin was great for our one year old who likes to explore. The views from the cabin and surrounding area were incredible! From before we booked through a couple questions we had while at the cabin, Rance was great, responded quickly and very helpful. Thank you for a great stay, we would love to visit again!

Mark
Beautiful cabin and a wonderful host. This is a great place to spend a few days to relax.


Shanna
It took us a bit to find the cabin, but when we did, it was beautiful. Its was perfect! Equipped with basically everything we needed. Clean and cozy. The beds were perfect and the couch was very, very comfy. My daughter loved the small carvings around the cabin. The fireplace really sets completes the ambiance. Our mornings started with coffee and watching the sun rise. We could hear deer out and about and it was very serene. The nights were lovely. The stars were literally out of this world! I would absolutely recommend this cabin to everyone!

Joe
Very peaceful and quiet! Loved the quietness. The cabin is very updated and comfortable

Bardia
Great Cabin. The thermostat is a little funky but once you get it going it works great.

Michael
Rance responded to our questions in a very timely matter. The property was exactly as descripted and all the amenities there was all anyone would need. The cabin and surrounding veiws were beautiful. Very remote and quiet. What a great getaway!

Amanda
We knew this would be a remote, secluded location based on the other reviews---and it was PERFECT! We are glad we rented an SUV for the trip. Loved the welcome basket waiting for us. Loved relaxing on the swing chairs on the deck, hiking, making dinners in the well equipped kitchen, beautiful starry nights...just perfect for a romantic getaway.

Christina
Exactly what I was looking for! Great place and awesome weather!

McGuire
Absolutely loved this place. We went for a secluded weekend getaway and it was exactly what we wanted. It takes 30-45 min on a dirt road to reach this place... I would recommend not planning other excursions unless your ok with the travel time. The cabin itself is beautiful and the patio is the best feature. We spent most of our time lounging in the hammocks and swings, and watching the stars at night. Rance did a great job communicating with us and he was extremely friendly. We plan on making future trips here!

Michael
We had a great stay. The cabin had everything we needed. It was great to get away and disconnect.

Ryan
Exactly as described! A beautiful cabin deep in the woods with an awesome deck. Very little cell reception out there and a bit of a difficult drive if you don't have AWD or an SUV. The house has everything you need and lots of great hiking nearby. Would definitely stay here again.

Rick
This cabin is exactly what AirBNB is all about! I was looking for an escape from the Phoenix heat and I got it. The drive itself is about 1.5-2 hours outside of Phoenix tucked away in the mountains off of a control road. The property itself has million dollar views and the privacy that you were looking for. Get out and explore while your there! You can drive back into the forest and take whatever off road trails and hiking trails you can handle. The drive into Payson is about 20 minutes. 10-15 to Pine. The house has all the ammenitites you could ask for along with very basic spices. Be prepared to bring enough food to cook for the time you are there. It would be annoying to drive into town if you forgot something. Good luck with phone reception too. Its a great way to disconnect from the world. Overall, I was very pleased with my stay and will definitely be coming back!

Melanie
My husband and I really enjoyed our stay here! Great cabin if you just want a quiet place to go to for a couple of days.

Angela
We had a wonderful time during our stay. The cabin and location were beautiful. It was a great opportunity to enjoy some family time and unplug from our daily life. Thank you for your hospitality!

Kim
We had the best time at Eagle Nest! Rance was great when I contacted him about direction, he called to make sure I got it. The cabin itself was amazing! So warm and welcoming, very peaceful which was exactly what we wanted.

Andrea
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Eagles Nest. It was the perfect backdrop for celebrating our 10 year wedding anniversary. Plenty of relaxing and peace and quiet. We also worked in some hiking on the nearby Highline trail. My husband was also able to take lots of pictures of wildlife which he loves. The cabin was clean, comfortable and had everything we needed.

Drew
We loved staying at this cabin! "Unplugging" in a remote location was just what the doctor ordered. The view is amazing and the interior is top notch. I proposed to my girlfriend under the stars on the porch by the fire pit. Everything was perfect!

Shea
The snacks and wine were a nice touch. The house was in good shape and cozy.

Matt
Very gracious host left snacks and wine. Listing was as described, secluded and comfortable.

Sara
The place was AMAZING! We had a wonderful time at the nest. Rance was very helpful and bottle of wine was very tasty. Just a couple things we found that taking 87 to control road was a bit easier to get to the cabin. Also being that the house is running off a well it took quite a while to fill the tub. These are really very minor things though the place was amazing and secluded. We had a great time and will be staying again! P.S. The amenities like the fireplace, grill, sound system, and outdoor fireplace were all very useful.


Nassim
The Eagle Nest was amazing, peaceful, relatively modern with very nice view. Rance welcomed us with a bottle of wine and everything needed was provided. We loved the place and we definitely love to go back sometime again.

Regina
We absolutely loved our time time at the cabin. From the peaceful surroundings, the star filled nights, the relaxing swing and hammocks, to the cozy fireplace. Not to mention the snow that was still around that made the drive to and from the cabin and the views even more beautiful. It was the perfect way to disconnect with the outside world and just enjoy what nature has to offer. The house was clean and well taken care. The gift basket upon check in was a very nice and inviting touch. I didn't want to leave! Thank you Rance for the hospitality. We would definitely come back to escape again!

Luke
Hi Rance. Sorry for the delay on this review as I have been out of town working. We had an amazing weekend. The property was beautiful. We were hoping for snow actually, but we did quite a bit of hiking and found a little. The champagne was a great touch sir and we will definitely recommend this property to others. Thank you again!


Carl
The cabin was beautiful, comfortable, and the kitchen was well stocked. We loved sitting on the deck and enjoying the view of the snow covered mountains. The gas fire pit was a nice touch. We really enjoyed being disconnected and getting away from everything. We will definitely keep The Eagles Nest in mind for the future.

Dulce
This cabin was very beautiful inside and out. I would deff recommend anyone to stay here.

Jordan
The eagles nest hillside retreat really made for the perfect weekend adventure. We were welcomed with a bottle of wine and all the amenities we could need. The cabin is perfect to get off the grid but still have so many of the conveniences we are used to. It was very clean, warm, and welcoming. I definitely would and likely will stay here again!

Korey
We had a great time. The views were great and cabin was cozy. We had snow one morning and it was so beautiful. The cabin was as described and photographed. There was a little snafu on scheduling, but Lance made good on everything and jumped right to taking care of it. Thanks Lance. If we had one critique it would be that the queen bed was rickety and noisy. We ended up sleeping on the double bed.

Tommy
The cabin was amazing! Plenty of space for everyone and lots to do! Ive rented a few cabins in the past and this in by far, the best. The location is perfect and even though it was snowy, it woukd be perfect for hiking or nearby swiming in the Verde. Summer time will be another great time for us to rent!

Laura
The cabin was beautiful and very relaxing. If you want a place to disconnect for awhile, I highly recommend it. Great views from the deck and very comfortable accommodations. They have thought out really nice details such as kids toys in a box, kids DVDs, nice spices in the kitchen, and thorough kitchen cookery available. Everything worked as detailed in the descriptions. Rance quickly responded to any questions and was very helpful with our inquiries.

Heather
The cabin was exactly like the pictures and the host was very responsive and helpful. My friends and I had an amazing time and would recommend to anyone that wants a great place to stay.


Connie
How nice to find a bottle of wine waiting for us when we arrived. The listing was exactly the way it was described. Loved that it was so far in the canyon. Rance was very helpful when we had questions.

Verena
Great opportunity to disconnect and enjoy nature. Cabin was cozy and inviting, and the area so quiet. Heavy rains kept us from hiking but it was nice to sit on the deck at night and watch the skies.

Brooks
The had a wonderful time. The Cabin was just as described, secluded yet easy to find. From the description of the road and driveway I was a little concerned about not having 4 wheel drive, but not a problem even on a rainy day.

Erica
The Eagles Nest Hillside Retreat was exactly as it appears in the photos. Rance was quick to respond to my messages and ensured we had all the necessary details we needed before we arrived. The property is definitely a retreat away from it all. TECHNOLOGY: It was refreshing to be disconnected from wifi/data service for a couple of days. Two of us had Verizon and were able to have service for texting, but one of the gals in our group had AT&T; and didn't have any service. We didn't mind this at all. It was nice to be on a bit of an Internet detox. :) GETTING THERE: Be sure to follow Rance's directions. They are very specific and easy to follow. We arrived just after sunset, and we wished we'd been able to make it while there was still daylight because navigating the driveway was a little nerve-wracking, though we made it just fine. If you can, we recommend driving a car with 4-wheel drive, though we survived with our CR-V with 2-wheel drive. ENJOYING THE HOUSE: The living/dining/kitchen space is perfect for people to hang out while preparing a meal. We enjoyed mornings and evenings relaxing on the front porch with coffee/cocktails. The kitchen is well-stocked with basic cooking tools. If you plan on doing a lot of cooking, we recommend bringing your own ingredients for everything, be sure to bring every ingredient you need, including salt and pepper. We were glad we had those on hand. Thanks so much to Rance and Hidden Hideaways for your hospitality. You guys were top-notch.


Johanna
This was a perfect, secluded location, about 45 minutes from Payson on a slow paved road and then dirt roads in the national forest, finally leading to this beautiful cabin. You can only see a portion of one house a decent distance from the property. The views of the Mogollon Rim and surrounding country are spectacular. We spent lots of time sitting in the hammocks, doing yoga on the porch, cooking great meals, relaxing, and enjoying the privacy. We did go down one day to the swimming holes on the Verde River and had a great time--it's only about 20 minutes from the house or so. We definitely plan on returning!

Breanna
Perfect location for a weekend getaway. The cabin was just as described, nestled in the trees. It was very spacious both inside and out on the patio. We celebrated my mother's birthday and had plenty of room for a feast and presents. Rance was a great host and had a welcome basket for us, as well as, had everything clean and ready for us! Thanks, Rance!

Mark
The neighborhood and house was peaceful and relaxing. The attractions near by were so convenient. Hiking, swimming holes, off road trails for quads, shopping close by, and the wildlife was fantastic. Tips- Stop and buy the parking pass for the fishing area and hiking trails on the way in at the Camp Ground if you want to go the Water Wheel. DO NOT MISS THIS THIS! (or have change for the self pay envelope $8.00 a day ) The fishing was great and the hike amazing with all the water falls and swimming holes. Stop at all the crossings to get another view of this beautiful area. Do not forget to bring table games; like banana-grams, trivia, right- left-center, jeopardy, Yahtzee for some added fun while enjoying the stars and fire pit. We are excited to have found such a remote area with so much to do. Great Stay! We have found our mountain getaway.

Troy
First off, the cabin. Wow! The pictures are spot-on. The views are incredible; you can see for miles, the shy is clear and you will have a hard time picking out the constellations through the starts. The milky way if clearly visible as are satellites and the occasional shooting star. The deck is massive and well suited for a game of cards in the open or just swinging in the hammocks sipping a beer. We hiked locally around the cabin as well as just a short drive away you will find as much hiking opportunity as your shoes can handle. Inside you will find everything you need to make any meal you desire while entertaining your friends. The beds are very comfy and from what I hear, the sofa bed is equally as comfy. The bathrooms are well stocked and the bedrooms are far enough apart where the guests are not a problem. What I believe really sets that cabin apart from the other 5 star cabin is Rance. When we arrived there was a bottle of wine, snacks and a welcome note inviting us to enjoy our time there.. There is a book where guests just write whatever they want, usually funny, sometimes heartfelt, often personal and expressive. The cabin feely homey and like you can sit and have a drink and a snack and you are in your own living room. Rance was incredibly accommodating to some last minute changes in plans where some friend came up for the weekend. We very easily entertained multiple dogs and 6 people without crowding in the kitchen and seating for everyone. BTW – if you have dogs that love to adventure, this is a great place for them come. There is more stuff to sniff and pee on and run to than any other cabin I have stayed at. We could sit on the desk and watch the world go by while the dogs and played and came back once in a while for water and treats. My dog is use to cabin adventures and keeping track of more “city” dogs, but this is worth a mention. Dogs when lost naturally gravitate to roads, with one road in and out, your dog would be easy to find if it ran to far. If you find you forgot a critical necessity, town is just a 20 to 30 minute drive on very well maintained roads. (For the love of god, DO NOT follow (Hidden by Airbnb) maps or GPS if you have a car, we did for an adventure – EPIC 4x4 fun, but not for a car. Use Rance’s directions.) We made a couple trips to town and on branching roads just for the drive, well worth it. I highly recommend this cabin for people and dogs alike. And I highly recommend Rance as a host. Both are exceptional!

MORE REVIEWS OF THE EAGLES NEST HILLSIDE RETREAT FROM OTHER VALUED GUESTS

-Nina C. - Williams, Arizona, United States - June 2015

This is an absolute must book, with an amazing owner who goes the extra mile for his guests. The cabin is beautiful and pictures do not do it justice. Very clean, beautifully decorated and has everything you can possibly need available. An awesome getaway for a romantic or family holiday. We did not want to leave. The cabin is very private and feels very secluded and has amazing views. We especially enjoyed sitting in the Eagles Nest at the fire pit. The surrounding area is beautiful and the cabin is close to many great hikes and activities. Better than any other cabin in the area and highly recommended, you can't go wrong.

- Michael L. - Phoenix, Arizona, United States - March 2015

The house is nestled in the trees on the side of a nice canyon. The view is mostly east and south, with the sun setting every evening within view (in March at least). Excellent views of the stars and planetary movements, as well as thunderstorms. It is a 'wild' place with coyotes singing every night. Although there are other houses around, you feel very much alone here. The house is very comfortable. The kitchen is well furnished and fairly modern. I recommend that if you really like to cook, as we we do, you should bring your own sharp knife and favorite cutting board. Hint, hint Rance! Thanks for the bottle of wine as well! Rance was extremely helpful with directions and checked up on us during our stay. Enjoy!!!

- Elma W. - Gilbert, AZ - January 2015

This cabin was great!! We had such a nice time with our family. The pictures and listing was very accurate. They had a nice welcome basket when we got there! ( 1 thing, if you plan on going during the winter like we did, and it has snowed, I would highly recommend traveling in a 4X4 vehicle. We could not go up the icey, snowy road with our car on the day we left. ) This cabin was deep in the forest! :) I would recommend this cabin to any of my friends! It was so nice and tranquil! Thank you for sharing your home with us!

- Judy G. - San Tan Valley, AZ - December 2014

This was a gift for our kids and grandkids for Christmas. They absolutely loved it! They said it was extremely relaxing, very private and quiet. My daughter stated that the cabin was very clean and not cluttered with furniture. They would highly recommend it!!

- Joyce Y. - Irvine, CA - November 2014

We have wonderful time here. it is full with surprise, first all is find this house in dark and drive on dirt road. It is a little bit scary but exciting. Second, no WiFi no phone service, when my children know there are no internet and phone service they almost crazy but when we were there I am very happy to see them go back to nature. The house is super clean and super quiet, we love this place.


Pete T. - Balgonie, Saskatchewan, Canada - October 2014

The cabin was just like it was described! It was very quiet and secluded. The hikeing was really good but I do suggest doing your research and mapping prior to your arrival as cell phone service is poor at the cabin (also good thing if you are getting away from the phone)! All things considered we had a great time and would defiantly come back!


- Mira W. - Phoenix, AZ - October 2014

The cabin was lovely, no surprises from the posted listing. Great getaway and we would definitely love to go up there again soon!


- Michelle D. - Phoenix, AZ - October 2014

We had an amazing weekend at The Eagle's Nest! The house is both beautiful & very comfortable. We loved the deck & spent a lot of time on it enjoying the beautiful views. The location is beautiful & remote but still close enough for easy trips into town. Rance was quick to respond & was very helpful any time I had questions. We would definitely stay at The Eagle's Nest again!


- Jaymie I. Phoenix, AZ - September 2014

My family and I loved the eagles nest hillside retreat. It was very clean, the updated kitchen and bathroom were beautiful, and the space was great. The outside porch is amazing. We spent most of our time relaxing outside enjoying the fresh air. The house was secluded but it was close enough to town so that we could go pick up anything that we needed. Overall we had a great experience!


- Drew P. - Phoenix, AZ - September 2014

This place is AWESOME! Immediately when we pulled up there was a deer running right across the property as if the owner had someone standing by ready to cue the deer to run across. The home was as comfortable as could be and they have absolutely every amenity that you could ever need. Every time I turned around wondering if they had this or that, sure enough it was there in one of the drawers. They have seriously thought of everything that you would ever need/want in the home. The home was not the same as described because it was actually better than what was described or expected. This was our first AirBNB experience and we absolutely loved and enjoyed ourselves more than I could have imagined. Thanks for everything.


- Linda C. - Gilbert, AZ - August 2014

"The pictures were accurate and there were no surprises except awe! The kitchen is better than my own! The peace and quiet is what I miss the most after being home. I loved sitting on the deck in the early morning to read. We found the hiking book on the counter most helpful. We found two hikes very close by. The large TV with Direct TV gave us all the comforts of a resort. The owners kept in touch to be sure we lacked nothing. I would only recommend that future visitors arrive in the sunlight as it is so nicely tucked away, that you will enjoy the arrival more by day."


- Andrew B. - San Francisco, CA - August 2014

Hi! Would definitely recommend the Eagle's Nest. A beautiful and simple place in a location that is just remote enough to feel like you are out of town but close enough to town (Payson is 20-30 minutes) to feel like you aren't screwed if you forgot something or want to go have a nice dinner. We very much enjoyed listening to jazz on their nice stereo and watching the sunset and stars from the perch. The place is fully stocked and has a great kitchen. Rance and his team were super responsive and professional. My friends and I all want to visit the Eagle's Nest again."


- Adam F. - Iowa City, IA / Tucson, AZ - August 2014

"Rance was a fantastic host and the cabin is beautiful. He made sure that everything was taken care of, that the cabin was clean and in good condition, and went the extra mile wherever he could. We really appreciated the hospitality and couldn't have asked for a better cabin in a better location. You can't find a better place to stay if you are looking to get away in the Mogollon Rim area."


- Teresa O. - Scottsdale, AZ - August 2014

"This experience was amazing! The cabin was gorgeous and warming, it was home away from home! The hammock, porch swing and eagles nest was a perfect touch that enhanced our experience with nature. This was a breath-taking experience and a perfect way to catch up with your loved one. We will be back as a family and I already have plans for a trip with friends! I can't wait to come back here, highly recommended! Rance and Sara are such warming and great hosts, already I see a friendship blooming. Thanks guys for everything, what a great experience!"


- Jessica W. - Phoenix, AZ - July 2014

" The Eagles Nest Hillside Retreat was just what my husband and I were looking for! We were so impressed when we walked into the cabin. It was so cozy, inviting and spotlessly clean! The kitchen was great for cooking our meals. The furniture was super comfortable. And the location is beautiful. We loved sitting out on the porch swing, enjoying the solitude and listening to wind rustle through the pines. We would love to come again to experience the other seasons of the year here!"


Tiffany L. - Glendale, AZ - July 2014

"Rance is an awesome host; easy to communicate with, very responsive and considerate to his guest. The cabin is unbelievable, all that the listing described an more. It's located in a rural environment, perfect for getting back to nature and escaping the rat race. Rance made sure the cabin was well equipped for an enjoyable stay, he thought of all the little details and we truly appreciated that. This was our first experience with Airbnb and thanks to Rance and his wonderful cabin, it will not be our last. Thanks for helping to make this a wonder birthday for my husband and an unforgetable experience for my family."


- Mike S. - Los Angeles, CA - July 2014

"I hesitate to leave such a glowing review because it may mean this place will be harder to book for us in the future! :) My family had an amazing time here, with memories that will last a lifetime. The Place: The place was exactly as pictured - well appointed and clean, with that log cabin charm. The views from the house alone are amazing. We loved BBQ-ing on the deck. My kids loved the bunk beds. There's nothing like coming back and soaking in the jacuzzi tub after a long day out! We loved the open kitchen layout. Rance left a great guidebook to local area attractions, and there were plenty of DVDs, board games and books for the kids. I thought I was going to die without Internet or cell phone reception, but I did not, and it was really really good to totally unplug and actually really relax from the normal pace of life. It looks like they're adding a hottub outside and a gas fire pit soon, which will make the place even better! The Area: This was our second summer in the Payson area. It is beyond breathtaking. We had a bald eagle swoop down and snag a fish 20 yards away from us at Lake Knoll. We saw all sorts of wildlife, and went to a different lake or river each day for a week. We caught crawfish, rode ATVs, swung on rope swings into rivers. It was heavenly. The Host: Rance was awesome. He was super friendly, offered up great suggestions, and was all in all a great host. I gave him a heads up on a light bulb that was out, and he offered to have someone come fix it the very next day even though it was no big deal at all. Even though we didn't actually meet face to face, it was clear from our interactions and the attention to detail that he really went out of his way to make this a great experience for people."


- William K. - Phoenix, AZ - July 2014

"The Eagles Nest - Looks like a cabin but was more like a home and truly well appointed . Very comfortable and equipped with just about anything you could possible need. If you are looking for quiet you found it as the house is very isolated, with great views and nearby steams and hikes. Rance was very accommodating and thorough. Had a great time."


- Colin L. Phoenix, AZ - June 2014

"We came up from Phoenix to escape the heat and had a great time. The house is truly remote and secluded, but the road was easy to drive and the directions made finding it in the dark no problem at all. The house itself is beautiful inside with just about everything you need. No Internet or cell coverage in the house (AT&T; had service if we walked down the road a little way, Verizon had none that we could find) but if you're looking to get away from everything for the weekend then that's just fine. All in all, we had a great time, and would certainly come back again."